email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest

FESTIVAL / PREMI Stati Uniti / Europa

Wolfwalkers vince cinque Annie Awards


- La coproduzione europea si è aggiudicata i premi per la miglior regia, il miglior film indipendente, l'interpretazione vocale, la scenografia e il design dei personaggi

Wolfwalkers vince cinque Annie Awards
Wolfwalkers di Tomm Moore e Ross Stewart

Questo articolo è disponibile in inglese.

The 48th ceremony of the Annie Awards, honouring excellence in the field of world animation, was held on 16 April at the Royce Hall of the University of California in Los Angeles as a virtual event, following the announcement of the nominations on 3 March. It surely was a special night for Kilkenny-based studio Cartoon Saloon, the outfit behind the making of the groundbreaking animation flick Wolfwalkers [+leggi anche:
scheda film
, directed by Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart and co–produced with Luxembourg's Mélusine Productions and France's Folivari.

(L'articolo continua qui sotto - Inf. pubblicitaria)

The feature scooped five prizes out of ten nominations, with the Irish company also honoured for its work on Fabian Erlinghauser and Tomm Moore's short There's a Monster in my Kitchen (Best Sponsored). Wolfwalkers took home Best Direction and Best Indie Feature for its Irish helmers Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart along with the awards for the Best Voice Acting (Eva Whittaker), Best Production Design (María Pareja, Ross Stewart and Tomm Moore) and Best Character Design (Federico Pirovano).

Meanwhile, Pete Docter's Soul was the biggest winner at the Annie Awards, winning Best Feature, Effects for Feature, Character Animation, Music, Storyboarding, Writing and Editorial. Both Wolfwalkers and Soul will compete for the Best Animated Feature Oscar at this year's Academy Awards.

Here is a full list of this year's award winners:

Best Feature
Soul – Pete Docter (USA)

Best Indie Feature
Wolfwalkers [+leggi anche:
scheda film
– Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart (Ireland/Luxembourg/France)

Best Special Production
The Snail and the Whale – Max Lang and Daniel Snaddon (UK)

Best Short Subject
Souvenir Souvenir – Bastien Dubois (France)

Best Sponsored
There’s a Monster in my Kitchen –  Fabian Erlinghauser and Tomm Moore (Ireland/UK)

Best TV/Media – Preschool
The Adventures of Paddington – Episode: Paddington Digs a Tunnel to Peru – Adam Shaw, Chris Drew, Will Cook and Victor Lima (UK/France)

Best TV/Media – Children
Hilda – Episode: Chapter 9: The Deerfox – Andy Coyle (UK/Canada/USA)

Best TV/Media – General Audience
Primal – Episode: Coven Of The Damned – Genndy Tartakovsky (USA)

Best Student Film
La Bestia – Marlijn Van Nuenen, Ram Tamez, Alfredo Gerard Kuttikatt (France)

Best Effects For TV/Media
Emad Khalili, Ivan Wang, Chris Wombold, Kyle Goertz and Kathy D. Tran – Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous – Episode: Welcome to Jurassic World (USA)

Best Effects for Feature
Tolga Göktekin, Carl Kaphan, Hiroaki Narita, Enrique Vila, Kylie Wijsmuller – Soul (USA)

Best Character Animation – TV/Media
David Laliberté – Hilda (UK/Canada/USA)

Best Character Animation – Feature
Michal Makarewicz – Soul (USA)

Best Character Animation – Live Action
Nathan Fitzgerald, Leo Ito, Chris Rogers, Eung Ho Lo, Emily Luk – The Mandalorian (USA)

Best Character Animation – Video game
Brian Wyser, Michael Yosh, Danny Garnett, David Hancock – Marvel’s Spider–Man Miles Morales (USA)

Best Character Design – TV/Media
Joe Sparrow – Amphibia – Episode: The Shut–In! (USA)

Best Character Design – Feature
Federico Pirovano – Wolfwalkers (Ireland/Luxembourg/France)

Best Direction – TV/Media
Genndy Tartakovsky – Primal – Episode: Plague Of Madness (USA)

Best Direction – Feature
Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart – Wolfwalkers (Ireland/Luxembourg/France)

Best Music – TV/Media
Kevin Kiner – Star Wars: The Clone Wars – Episode: Victory and Death (USA)

Best Music – Feature
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste – Soul (USA)

Best Production Design – TV/Media
Julien Bisaro – Shooom’s Odyssey (France/Belgium)

Best Production Design – Feature
María Pareja, Ross Stewart, Tomm Moore – Wolfwalkers (Ireland/Luxembourg/France)

Best Storyboarding – TV/Media
Andrew Dickman – Looney Tunes Cartoons – Episode: Big League Beast (USA)

Best Storyboarding – Feature
Trevor Jimenez – Soul (USA)

Best Voice Acting – TV/Media
David Bradley as Merlin – Tales of Arcadia: Wizards – Episode: Our Final Act (USA)

Best Voice Acting – Feature
Eva Whittaker – Wolfwalkers (Ireland/Luxembourg/France)

Best Writing – TV/Media
Andrew Goldberg and Patti Harrison – Big Mouth – Episode: The New Me (USA)

Best Writing – Feature
Pete Docter, Mike Jones and Kemp Powers – Soul (USA)

Best Editorial –TV/Media
John McKinnon – Hilda – Episode: Chapter 9: The Deerfox (UK/Canada/USA)

Best Editorial – Feature
Kevin Nolting, Gregory Amundson, Robert Grahamjones and Amera Rizk – Soul (USA)

Juried Awards

Winsor McCay Award
Willie Ito, Sue Nichols (posthumously) and Bruce Smith

June Foray Award
Daisuke “Dice” Tsutsumi

Ub Iwerks Award
Epic Games for its Unreal Engine

Special Achievement Award
Howard (Stone Circle Pictures)

(L'articolo continua qui sotto - Inf. pubblicitaria)

Ti è piaciuto questo articolo? Iscriviti alla nostra newsletter per ricevere altri articoli direttamente nella tua casella di posta.

Privacy Policy