email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


IndieCork annonce les lauréats de son édition 2021


- Cette année, les Prix Spirit of IndieCork ont récompensé le talent montant Niall Owens, réalisateur de Gateway, et son collègue américain Bill Morrison

IndieCork annonce les lauréats de son édition 2021
Kate Perry, la scénariste de Ruthless, et le réalisateur du film, Matthew McGuigan, après la cérémonie de remise des prix au Gate Cinema de Cork

Cet article est disponible en anglais.

The physical part of the 2021 edition of IndieCork wrapped on 26 September. The event ran from 19-26 September at the historic Gate Cinema in Cork, but it is set to continue online at the Blacknight Hub (click here) until midnight on 3 October.

This year’s Spirit of IndieCork Awards went to US filmmaker Bill Morrison and emerging talent Niall Owens for his debut, Gatewa [+lire aussi :
fiche film
y [+lire aussi :
fiche film
. Morrison was awarded “for his body of work, notably The Village Detective: a song cycle that screened this year at IndieCork”.

(L'article continue plus bas - Inf. publicitaire)

“Taking film reels found at the bottom of the sea and literally bringing them to light, he creates a new and profound narrative,” the jurors said. Meanwhile, Owens “has shown a true independent spirit of dogged persistence in getting his accomplished debut feature, Gateway, to the screen”. Owen’s compelling psychological thriller, set and shot in Cork, was made on a shoe-string budget and screened as the opening film of this year’s festival.

Moreover, the Award for Best Irish Film was bestowed upon Northern Irish filmmaker Matthew McGuigan’s Ruthless. The short was described as “a humorous, heart-warming story of how a prosthetic leg and a T Rex album become the conduit for overcoming grief”. The jurors stated, “From the opening images, this short but impressive film keeps its eye on the essentials, alternating between the playful and the tragic as we unearth the damage done to a father and son in 1970s Belfast.”

Speaking about the results of this year’s edition, festival co-director Mick Hannigan commented: “We’re grateful for the support and goodwill shown to IndieCork. We’ve had really strong audiences, and we thank the many filmmakers who travelled to Cork from Spain, the USA, the UK and from across Ireland to represent their films. Even a month ago, this isn’t something we thought would be possible. It’s shown us that there’s a great appetite from audiences and filmmakers for a festival such as IndieCork, and for our role of supporting and nurturing filmmaking talent.” Festival co-director Úna Feely added: “It’s been a strong and positive year for IndieCork: receiving the accolade of becoming a BAFTA-nominating festival, hosting many world premieres, and simply welcoming back audiences and filmmakers. We thank all our partners who support the festival: Blacknight Solutions, the Arts Office of Cork City Council, and our partner venue, the Gate Cinema, plus our creative partners MTU Crawford College of Art and Design and The Guesthouse.”

On this occasion, IndieCork welcomed filmmakers from Dubliln, Kildare, Derry, Donegal, Belfast, London, Barcelona and New York as well as a strong cohort of local filmmakers who convened every day at the Gate Cinema.

Here is the full list of award winners at the 2021 edition:

Best Creative Cork Short Film
Woodpeckers – Owen Warren (Ireland)

The Clothes Wear You – Kitsch Doom (Ireland)

Special Mentions
May the Peacock Have its Call and Dance – Sofia Rudi (Ireland)
I Have Plants in Lonely Places – Elsie Van Dam (Ireland)

Best Irish Film
Ruthless – Matthew McGuigan (UK)

Honourable Mention (Documentary)
In Between Lands – Laura Griffin (Ireland/USA)

Honourable Mention (Fiction)
To All My Darlings – Lisa Campbell (Ireland)

Best International Short Film
High Sky Low Land – Maria Erikkson-Hecht (Sweden)

Honourable Mention
Cradle – Paul Muresan (Romania)

Best Emerging Irish Female Director Award
Eva Birthistle – Kathleen Was Here (Ireland)

Spirit of IndieCork Awards
Niall Owens – Gateway [+lire aussi :
fiche film
Bill Morrison

IndieCork Music Award
The Quiet Club

(L'article continue plus bas - Inf. publicitaire)

(Traduit de l'anglais)

Vous avez aimé cet article ? Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter et recevez plus d'articles comme celui-ci, directement dans votre boîte mail.

Privacy Policy