email print share on Facebook share on Twitter share on reddit pin on Pinterest


Sisters triunfa en Clermont-Ferrand


- La pieza eslovena se ha llevado el Gran Premio Internacional y el documental Mat and Her Mates, el Gran Premio Nacional, en la 43a edición del certamen

Sisters triunfa en Clermont-Ferrand
Sisters, de Katarina Rešek

Este artículo está disponible en inglés.

Sisters (Sestre) by Slovenian director Katarina Rešek has grabbed the Grand Prix in the International Competition of the 43rd Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival. The awards were announced this past Saturday night in a year in which the biggest short-film festival in the world was – like so many others across the globe – forced to take place entirely online. Rešek’s film is a raw and powerful ode to female friendship that is replete with strong performances and solidifies the helmer – who is also known in her native Slovenia as a musical artist under the name of Kukla – as a talent to watch over the coming years.

(El artículo continúa más abajo - Inf. publicitaria)
series serie

Other winners in the International Competition included Joanna Quinn’s Affairs of the Art (UK/Canada), which won Best Animation. The latest film from the lauded director – whose previous work has netted her two Emmy Awards, two BAFTAs and two Oscar nominations, amongst many other accolades – follows characters that are obsessed with pursuing their passion, whether it be drawing or taxidermy. Newer talent was on offer in the European Film Awards Candidate Beyond Is the Day (Dalej Jest Dzien) (Poland) by director Damian Kocur, a student at the Krzysztof Kieślowski Faculty of Radio and Television of the University of Silesia in Katowice. The meditative black-and-white film follows Pawel, who lives alone in a ramshackle hut and works on the river. One day, he finds Mohammad, an immigrant from Palestine, and tentatively invites him in. Despite the air of anti-immigrant hysteria that pervades the country – and the fact that Mohammad desperately wants to continue to Germany – Pawel finally has someone to talk to. The Swedish film Swimmer (Badaren) by Jonatan Etzler won the “Fernand Raynaud” Award for Best Comedy.

In the National Competition, the documentary Mat and Her Mates (Mat et les Gravitantes) by director Pauline Penichout won the Grand Prix alongside the Awards for Best Student Film and Best Documentary. The movie – which originates from France’s La Fémis film school and has already screened at the likes of Oberhausen and Visions du Réel – explores Mat and her friends as they take part in a self-gynaecology workshop in a squat in Nantes. Another documentary, Locked Out (Confinés Dehors) by Julien Goudichaudb, a moving examination of the plight of Paris’s homeless during the pandemic, took home the Audience Award whilst the Best Animation SACD Award went to Souvenir Souvenir (directed by Bastien Dubois), itself fresh off a win from Sundance (see the news). Another popular national award winner was One and Thousand Nights (Les Mauvais Garçons) by Elie Girard, a tale of two friends who see their friendship change as they grow older, which won the Procirep Short Film Producer Award and the Télérama Press Award.

In Labo, the festival’s section dedicated to more experimental fare that this year celebrated its 20th anniversary, the Grand Prix was won by Gramercy (directed by Pat Heywood and Jamil McGinnis, USA), a powerful tale of depression, race and inner-city life that first came to prominence after its premiere at the 2020 edition of Locarno. The popular short Maalbeek by Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis (France), an experimental documentary about the 2016 attack at Brussels’ Maalbeek Metro station, won the Audience Award and the Adobe Visual Effect Award.

Here is the full list of award winners:

International Competition

Grand Prix
Sisters (Sestre) - Katarina Rešek (Slovenia)

Special Jury Prize
The Trees - Ramzi Bashour (USA/Lebanon)

Audience Award
God's Daughter Dances – Sungbin Byun (South Korea)

Best Animation Award
Affairs of the Art - Joanna Quinn (UK/Canada)

Student Prize
Remedy (Hilum) - Don Josephus and Raphael Eblahan (Philippines)

Canal+/Ciné+ Award
Al-Sit - Suzannah Mirghani (Qatar/Sudan)

Special Mentions of the Jury
Angh - Theja Rio (India)
Masel Tov Cocktail
- Arkadij Khaet and Mickey Paatzsch (Germany)
Little Portugal (Portugal Pequeno) - Victor Quintanilha (Brazil)
Fabiu - Stefan Langthaler (Austria)
(Hilum) - Don Josephus and Raphael Eblahan

European Film Awards Candidate
Beyond Is the Day (Dalej Jest Dzien) - Damian Kocur (Poland)

Fernand Raynaud Comedy Award
Swimmer (Badaren) - Jonatan Etzler (Sweden)

National Competition

Grand Prix
Mat and Her Mates (Mat et les Gravitantes) - Pauline Penichout (France)

Special Jury Prize
Palma - Alexe Poukine (France/Belgium)

Audience Award
Locked Out (Confinés Dehors)-Julien Goudichaudb(France)

Equality and Diversity Award
Vas-y Voir - Dinah Ekchajzer (France)

Student Prize
Mat and Her Mates (Mat Et Les Gravitantes) - Pauline Penichout

Canal+ Prize
The Nightwalk - Adriano Valerio (France/Italy)

Procirep Short Film Producer Award
One and Thousand Nights (Les Mauvais Garçons) - Elie Girard (France)

Male Actor Award
Malabar - Maximilian Badier-Rosenthal (France)

Female Actor Award
Palma - Alexe Poukine

Best Animation SACD Award
Souvenir Souvenir - Bastien Dubois (France)

Best Original Film Score - SACEM Award
The Nightwalk - Adriano Valerio (France/Italy)

Best First Fiction SACD Award
We Are Not Dead Yet (Nous Ne Sommes Pas Encore Morts) - Joanne Rakotoarisoa (France)

Télérama Press Award
One and Thousand Nights (Les Mauvais Garçons) - Elie Girard

Student Jury Special Mention
Love Hurts - Elsa Rysto (France)

Best Documentary Film Award
Mat and Her Mates (Mat Et Les Gravitantes) - Pauline Penichout

Labo Competition

Grand Prix
Gramercy - Pat Heywood and Jamil McGinnis (USA)

Special Jury Prize
Santiago 1973-2019 – Paz Corona (France)

Audience Award
Maalbeek - Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis (France)

Student Prize
Letters From Silivri - Adrian Figueroa (Turkey/Germany)

Adobe Visual Effect Award
Maalbeek - Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis

Special Mention of the Jury
Night Bus – Joe Hsieh (Taiwan)
The Unseen River
- Lan Pham Ngoc (Vietnam)

Festivals Connexion Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Award
Letters From Silivri - Adrian Figueroa

Special Mention of the Documentary Prize Jury
Son of Sodom - Theo Montoya (Colombia/Argentina)

(El artículo continúa más abajo - Inf. publicitaria)

(Traducción del inglés)

¿Te ha gustado este artículo? Suscríbete a nuestra newsletter y recibe más artículos como este directamente en tu email.

Privacy Policy